Applications Open for YALI’s 2018 Mandela Washington Fellowship for Young African Leaders!

Deadline: 11 October 2017

The Young African Leaders Initiative (YALI) is seeking applications for its 2018 Mandela Washington Fellowship for Young African Leaders to empower young people through academic coursework, leadership training, and networking.
The Mandela Washington Fellowship includes:
  • A six-week Academic and Leadership Institute
  • A Summit in Washington, DC
  • An optional six-week Professional Development Experience:
  • Activities in Africa
  • There is no fee to apply to the Mandela Washington Fellowship.
  • If applicants are selected for the Fellowship, the U.S. government will cover all participant costs.
  • Financial provisions provided by the U.S. Government will include:
    • J-1 visa support
    • Round-trip travel from Fellow’s home city to the U.S. and domestic U.S. travel as required by the program
    • A six-week academic and leadership institute
    • Concluding Summit in Washington, DC
    • Accident and sickness benefit plan
    • Housing and meals during the program
    • An optional six-week Professional Development Experience (for up to 100 Fellows)
Eligibility Criteria
Applicants will not be discriminated against on the basis of race, color, gender, religion, socio-economic status, disability,
sexual orientation, or gender identity. The Mandela Washington
Fellowship is open to young African leaders who meet the following
  • Are between the ages of 25 and 35 at the time of application
    submission, although exceptional applicants younger than 25 will be
  • Are not U.S. citizens or permanent residents of the U.S.
  • Are eligible to receive a United States J-1 visa.
  • Are proficient in reading, writing, and speaking English.
  • Are citizens and residents of one of the below mentioned countries.
How to Apply
Applicants must apply online via given website.
Eligible Countries: Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cabo Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), Republic of the Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.
For more information, please visit Mandela Washington Fellowship.

Tony Orji

Dr. Tony Orji is the founder and owner of Success Tonics Blog. He is a Senior Lecturer at the Department of Economics, University of Nigeria, Nsukka.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button